British Curriculum

British Curriculum

Offering a world-class education founded on an elaborated National Curriculum for England (NCfE)

It is a detailed, planned and integrated scheme covering a child's whole school experience, from the age of 3 to 18. It is a skill-based curriculum, enhanced by many excellent textbooks and resources, with its own testing mechanism. It fits into the English public examination system (GCSE, AS & A Level), which is accepted by universities throughout the world.

An Education for Life

The National Curriculum for England provides students with an education that is recognized and held in esteem around the world. Acknowledged for its high academic standards and its well-rounded approach to education, the curriculum provides students with transferability and the opportunity to gain access to reputable universities, worldwide. Students from GEMS Cambridge International Schools have been accepted to prestigious universities around the world.

The curriculum is organised based on Key Stages, which are categorised as follows:




Foundation Stage


FS1 and FS2

Key Stage 1 


Year 1 and Year 2 

Key Stage 2


Year 3-6

Key Stage 3 


Year 7-9

Key Stage 4* 


Year 10-11 (GCSE)* 

Key Stage 5*


Year 12-13 ( A Level)* 

*Subject to SPEA approval.

*The minimum age of the student is as on August 31 of the academic year for FS and KS-1

More To Explore